Saturday, June 26, 2004

We had an adventurous day so far. We went to a museum this morning after breakfast. Katya enjoyed it - seeing all the animals on display. We had a bit of a temper tantrum at lunch time. I think we're giving her too much stimulation. Maybe we need to be spending more time at the hotel and less running around. Maybe just Baskin Robbins this afternoon and back to the hotel.

Joe
OK so yesterday went pretty well, Katya was very good at breakfast, she eats well. We went on a long walk to a river side park. Katya of course brought dolly and the infamous sippy cup. She loves her sippys. Food is "num num" at lunch she ate yogurt and some juice and a couple biscuits. We had a nap then out again to another park. The sun was very hot. Thank goodness Katya's outfit had a hat! I got to look at a local man made lake swimming area. Svetlana says it was built because the current in the local river is so fast and the river can become very deep very quickly. They have doctors check the water of the river and let people know if they can swim in it for the week or not. Nice. Svetlana said the swimming lake was built because alot of children drown in the river last year. She was trying to impress on us how clear the lake was. Not! I saw a layer of crud around the edge of the non used side. Gross. Beer bottles and a green crud. Nice. I'm glad I don't swim. I got a sun burn on my chest and shoulders. Fortunately Katya did not. We walked about a 10th of a mile in the morning and another 10th in the afternoon. Katya should sleep good. We met another adoptive parents at the park. They were from Hartford CT with their 3 year old son Mishka (Michael) another cutie. When we stopped at a childrens store we ran into them again. We stopped for Katya some hats to block the sun , sunscreen and PJ's. Joe went with Oleg to to the store and Katya and I went to the hotel . Katya Realized Joe was gone and asked "papa" ? With her hands up like "where is he" ? we had bought Katya a small doll to take into the bath with her . Unfortunately it had some things like a child sized ring with it. I try to be slick and remove it before she saw it but no she caught me . This involved a tantrum with her slapping at me, trying to pinch me and biting her hand . I used English first and then resorted to Russian "eta neelza" That's not allowed . More tantrum -- I finally put her in her crib without toys . after a few minutes she stopped and after a few more she and motion for me to pick her up . She had a good dinner beef, potatoes, and dill toddler food from a jar, yuck, some apple pieces, water and of course part of my dinner of meats and cheeses. It can last night was again a treat, kicking, biting in screaming, and demanding her sip cup. It lasted less than ten minutes then she was out. We learned to put her sip cup out of sight. she did finally have a bowel movement. Or actually three woohoo, I forgot how bad baby shit stinks! Oh well. The alarm just went off time to start today's festivities.

Rain
We went to a park with a lake today. It was hot & sunny today and Katya certainly got a workout. We got her some hats and some sunscreen to help protect her from the hot sun. After we got to the hotel I went to a grocery store and bought fruit, soda, snacks, etc. so we can avoid eating out every day. I spent 928 rubles (about $35) on groceries but that should get us a bunch of lunches and several dinners. A typical dinner runs 600-1000 rubles for the 2 of us. Katya loves the stroller and backpack now which is a good thing. She really is a good kid. Putting her to bed is fun. Tonight we let her cry herself to sleep - only took her 7 or 8 minutes to go from tantrum to sound asleep. She does not like being put to bed and wants to take her sippy cup with her - we don't let her do this. She will learn sooner or later, hopefully sooner.

Joe